This is a tamari soy sauce from soy sauce brewer Tomizu, a soy sauce manufacturer local to Gifu prefecture. This tamari differs from other kinds of soy sauce because it is free of any wheat, making it gluten free.
Many varieties of tamari contain trace amounts of gluten, meaning that they are not suitable for those with gluten intolerance or allergies. In the case of this tamari shoyu from Tomizu, they use a special method called “tosui-shikomi,” in which soybeans and barley koji are mixed with 100% clear stream water.
The water used in this tamari shoyu comes from the Nagara river in Gifu, which is famous for its delicious and fresh taste.
Only carefully selected raw materials of domestic soybeans, salt, and barley koji have been chosen to be included in this product, to ensure the best taste possible. The brewing water that determines the taste of soy sauce is underground water from the clear Nagara River, and the soybeans are whole soybeans from Gifu Prefecture.
- Carefully aged in cedar barrels that have been used for over 100 years are used to brew this tamari shoyu sauce.
- 100% natural soy sauce made only using Japanese domestic ingredients.
- Gluten-free tamari shoyu.
This particular tamari shoyu has a richer and deeper flavor than traditional dark soy sauce, making it ideal to use as a dipping sauce for sashimi or cold tofu. It also tastes delicious on grilled meat, fish, and vegetables.
- Net contents: 500ml
- Ingredients: Whole soybeans, salt, barley koji (alcohol)
- Potential allergens: Soybean
- Notes: Store in a cool, dark place. After opening, store in the refrigerator and consume as soon as possible.
- Expires one year after date of manufacture.
- Made in Japan